Getting Toast(y) for the Winter

IMG_7680-2

Finals were certainly stressful this time around, but there is no better feeling than the freedom I felt from finishing my last test and walking out to the fresh air. Only two more quarters until I graduate from University of California, Davis! There is no telling what comes afterwards, but hey, let’s take life one step at a time! To celebrate the end of finals and the start of the holidays, my sister-Katie-and I decided to make some cute little toasts ! I totally stole the idea for this punny blog title from my sister btw. We grabbed our inspiration from Tastemade, a group on Facebook that has delicious food ideas. You can visit their video through the link down below.

IMG_7643IMG_7660

Katie has always been the better chef, and I always learn really simple foundational things from cooking with her. To wash strawberries and blueberries, she taught me to soak them in water a little bit of baking soda. I just always scrubbed them in water. Apparently she learned that from our mother… I should pay attention in the kitchen more.

IMG_7692

Today, I decided that one of my favorite sensations in the world was the taste of freshly hand-whipped heavy whipping cream.

It was a very simple process. We toasted the bread, whipped the cream, spread the Nutella, cut the fruit, and placed them aesthetically all over the place.

IMG_7684
Orange and Walnut Nutella Toast
IMG_7681
Kiwi and Banana Toast
IMG_7686
Strawberry and Blueberry Nutella Toast
IMG_7682
Apple Walnut and Cinnamon Sugar Toast
IMG_7683
Fresh Tomato and Pepper Toast
IMG_7685
Avocado and Pomegranate Toast
IMG_7699
Your chefs for today: Me (left) and Katie (right)

Where we drew our inspiration from:

28 thoughts on “Getting Toast(y) for the Winter

  1. Oh my goodness, I think you just converted me into a toast person. Your photos are SO beautiful! I especially love how you arranged the orange and walnut Nutella toast. Seriously drool-worthy pictures. I can’t wait to see more!

    Like

  2. Oh my gosh those are beautiful. I made chocolate chips on toast with sliced banana and pecans the other day, I thought I had ‘invented’ what I dubbed ‘sweet toast’, but you have mastered the art! Thanks for the inspiration, and the sudden need to race to the kitchen!

    Like

Leave a comment